Q: Tell me about your job

A: I am the supervisor for the racking, washing, and sanding departments. My day consists of getting to work side by side with some great associates. Daily, I attempt to provide support to all my associates, by solving problems and assisting them any way I can. My department is a physical work department, so my muscle development has been enhanced since working at Linetec. From wimp to average! Bring on those load bars.

Q: What did you do prior to Linetec?

A: Post-college, my entire working career prior to Linetec was spent in the restaurant business. My career started at Pizza Hut as an assistant manager, then general manager, then director of operations and finally, senior director of operations, where I oversaw the daily operations of 84 restaurants. When I moved back up North to the Wausau area, I switched to another division to become an Applebee’s director of operation. The amount of work hours and travel became the reason I decided to leave the restaurant business.

Q: What is your favorite part of your job?

A: Since my background was from the restaurant industry, it has been very mentally stimulating to learn many new things at Linetec. My favorite part of the job – just like it has been my entire career – is the great people I get to work with. Many of the associates and management from my restaurant career I would consider to be almost like part of my family, and I hope to have similar experience at Linetec.

Q: What poses the biggest challenges for you?

A: The biggest challenge I faced as the racking, washer and sanding supervisor was the lack of technical knowledge I initially had when promoted to the supervisor position. My department was loaded with talented associates who have been very willing to teach me different technical aspects of my department.

Q: What is something you are looking forward to?

A: I am anxiously awaiting the arrival on my second grandchild in November. Having a grandson who is about year old has just been a blast. It is amazing how much they change and grow between visits. Buying toys and clothing for the grandson is so fun.

Q: Do you collect anything?

A: I collect bone China teacups and saucers. My grandmother got me started by giving me some from her mother. I added to my collection this past fall while on vacation, as I found a unique cup with purple wheat stocks, which reminded me of my parent’s home state of North Dakota.

Q: What is something people don’t know about you?

A: I used to raise Boer meat goats. My goal was to get a bloodline to the level that I could show them at the State Fair. The baby Boer goats are so fun to be around as they are constantly chasing each other or in an intense head-butting contest.

Q: If Linetec gave you a surprise three day paid break to rest and recuperate, what would you do with those three days?

A: I would attempt to get in a basketball game. Hiking in western Wisconsin with my girlfriend, Lisa, and her sheep dog, Smoochie, would be high on the list. This time of year, I would like to spend some time working on my raised gardening beds to ensure I am ready for planting season. I’d also make a quick trip to Green Bay to see my grandson and my mom.

Q; If you could only eat one meal for the rest of your life, what would it be?

A: My girlfriend, Lisa, makes an awesome berry waffle. Of course, I would need Nueske’s corned beef hash and some hash browns to finish the meal.

Q: What always cheers you up when you think about it?

A: My family, as I am very lucky to have a great girlfriend, two awesome sons, a daughter-in-law, a grandson, stepson, my mom and very supportive sisters. Life is all about family and I have a great one.